Before I watch the game replay

Wanting to know if you and I were looking at the same clips. Sometimes the big screen has better angles, sometimes worse.
The last clip they showed on TV showed him fail to complete the catch while going to the ground making what was happening with his feet irrelevant.

I was watching on TV.
 
  • Informative
Reactions: CyclonesRock
I think that one was called really late, too IIRC. I remember thinking that it was weird to be on the other end of one of those late "drive-saving" calls for a change.
I completely agree. As I recall watching it, I too thought they called it late but I think it's because 1. I was freaking out and missed seeing the flag and then assumed it was some stupid thing on us and 2. I think they didn't have the flag button on the screen or a replay angle that showed the flag well. I think it was actually called right when it happened.
 
  • Agree
Reactions: coolerifyoudid
No, Kolar was covered up outside. WR outside of him needed to be off the LOS or Kolar did.

Kolar WAS off the LOS. I just watched it an hour ago. Three guys shifted from left to right and Kolar lined up behind the other two and was one of the 4 guys in the backfield, (which is allowed). So I have no idea why that was a penalty.

Overall, here are my answers based on watching several times:
1. No interception, ball hit the ground.
2. Late hit, yes. Targeting, no, not after watching several other games where targeting was waived off by the replay. No launch, no crown of helmet, etc.
3. I have looked and looked and I can't find any reason for the penalty on Kolar. That doesn't mean there isn't a rule violation that I am not aware of. But Kolar was NOT covered up, because he lined up a yard off the LOS. His route did start by squeezing between the two ISU guys ahead of him on the LOS, so maybe that is not allowed?
4. Our receiver, I think Scates, was lined up to the right of the line. He started in motion just shuffling his feet to the left. In slow motion you can see that the OU defender starts to jump toward Hudson at the same time that Scates starts to move forward. Did Scates react to the offsides? Maybe. Did the OU guy react to Scates legal sideways movement or to Scates illegal forward movement? Or did they both just jump the gun by coincidence at the exact same time? Can't tell from the replay. But I think generally the offense will be penalized in this situation, because you can't tell if Scates changed his motion from sideways to forward only because OU was offsides. It was too bang-bang, both at the same time.

I also noticed a couple other things. As others have mentioned, OU was holding our defenders all night and holding our receivers almost as much. More instances than I could begin to mention, but one was particularly egregious. An OU lineman literally had both arms wrapped around the head of our defensive lineman to keep him from getting to the passer. Nothing called. I don't know how our guy kept his composure after that play.

Also, I hate to think there is any intent on the part of the ref, but it is uncanny how often the ball gets marked short after an ISU play and gets marked long after an OU play. Third play of the game, long pass by OU, the receiver was down at the 8, ball marked at our 6. And it just goes on and on from there. OU often got spotted ahead by 3 to 4 feet and ISU often got shorted by 2 to 3 feet. Of course, I have the advantage of slow motion and stop action, but wow it is just too consistently to our disadvantage to think it is random. I know, I know, it seems like nitpicking, but I just have an overactive sense of fair play and things like this just really irritate me. OK, on to Texas Tech!
 
Did anyone else notice that on that extra point with the penalty it took 2 big defensive linemen double teaming Hudson, they were unable to push him back very much and instead just pushed him over to his back. Hudson must me a mountain of a man to not get pushed back very much in that situation.
 
The bad spots have happened against ISU for a long time. Especially against Texas.
 
Excellent thread; helped answer lots of my questions as a fan in the stand.

1 outstanding question: the play before Xavier's TD; what happened on that 3rd and 11 play that had no flags where Purdy threw incomplete, but the officials then huddled for 2 minutes where they determined OU # 6 held someone on ISU? We were really baffled in the stands, but it was a game changer that went our way.

#6 for OU lined up with Sean Shaw, As soon as Shaw started his route, #6 grabbed him and held him for about a second, then let go but still followed Shaw out to the right on his route. Then Shaw turned up the sideline and #6 latched onto him again, actually had both arms around Shaw for a second and held him till the end of the play. I don't know which hold was called, or maybe the ref saw both, but in the meantime Purdy rolled out right and fumbled the ball and then fell on it. So it was 4th and 12, until somehow the flag nobody saw was called on #6 for holding Shaw. Next play, touchdown!
 
Kolar WAS off the LOS. I just watched it an hour ago. Three guys shifted from left to right and Kolar lined up behind the other two and was one of the 4 guys in the backfield, (which is allowed). So I have no idea why that was a penalty.

Overall, here are my answers based on watching several times:
1. No interception, ball hit the ground.
2. Late hit, yes. Targeting, no, not after watching several other games where targeting was waived off by the replay. No launch, no crown of helmet, etc.
3. I have looked and looked and I can't find any reason for the penalty on Kolar. That doesn't mean there isn't a rule violation that I am not aware of. But Kolar was NOT covered up, because he lined up a yard off the LOS. His route did start by squeezing between the two ISU guys ahead of him on the LOS, so maybe that is not allowed?
4. Our receiver, I think Scates, was lined up to the right of the line. He started in motion just shuffling his feet to the left. In slow motion you can see that the OU defender starts to jump toward Hudson at the same time that Scates starts to move forward. Did Scates react to the offsides? Maybe. Did the OU guy react to Scates legal sideways movement or to Scates illegal forward movement? Or did they both just jump the gun by coincidence at the exact same time? Can't tell from the replay. But I think generally the offense will be penalized in this situation, because you can't tell if Scates changed his motion from sideways to forward only because OU was offsides. It was too bang-bang, both at the same time.

I also noticed a couple other things. As others have mentioned, OU was holding our defenders all night and holding our receivers almost as much. More instances than I could begin to mention, but one was particularly egregious. An OU lineman literally had both arms wrapped around the head of our defensive lineman to keep him from getting to the passer. Nothing called. I don't know how our guy kept his composure after that play.

Also, I hate to think there is any intent on the part of the ref, but it is uncanny how often the ball gets marked short after an ISU play and gets marked long after an OU play. Third play of the game, long pass by OU, the receiver was down at the 8, ball marked at our 6. And it just goes on and on from there. OU often got spotted ahead by 3 to 4 feet and ISU often got shorted by 2 to 3 feet. Of course, I have the advantage of slow motion and stop action, but wow it is just too consistently to our disadvantage to think it is random. I know, I know, it seems like nitpicking, but I just have an overactive sense of fair play and things like this just really irritate me. OK, on to Texas Tech!

Yes, one of the posters here posted a presnap picture of the Kolar illegal downfield penalty, and it looks like a blown call - thought Kolar was Soehner perhaps.
 
Had some pre snap mistakes. Akers an illegal motion, the Kolar ineligible, and had another play called back because there were only 6 on the LOS, one of the WR supposed to be on the LOS but wasn’t.

The false start on Hutchinson is tough. Though the OU DL moves first, they are saying that movement isn’t what made XH jump (which I agree is prob the case), and that XH moved before the OU DL made contact (very close).
Pretty sure it was Scates who jumped. Didn't see much of him in the second half.
 
Screen-Shot-2020-10-04-at-1-50-25-PM.png


Kolar is lined up in the backfield, Allen and Soehner are on the LOS and both ineligible because they're covered up by receiver at the bottom of the formation. But Allen and Soehner both block and neither go downfield.

No idea where the penalty came from on this play, I think maybe they lost track of which of our tall TEs who were all lined up in a bunch went downfield.
This is still an illegal formation. You have to have four guys in the backfield and seven on the LOS ... there are 8 on the line and only 3 in the backfield here. Unless you're going to say Allen is actually off the LOS, then the formation is legal, but Soehner is an ineligible receiver (covered by Scates).
 
This is still an illegal formation. You have to have four guys in the backfield and seven on the LOS ... there are 8 on the line and only 3 in the backfield here. Unless you're going to say Allen is actually off the LOS, then the formation is legal, but Soehner is an ineligible receiver (covered by Scates).
The rule has always been that you have to have a minimum of 7 players on the line of scrimmage with at least 5 having a designated lineman number. You can choose to have 8, 9, or even 10 on the line, but it is easier to defend as you limit the number of potential receivers.
 
Good catch, I bet you are right and they got Kolar and Soehner mixed up and missed the call.
Easy to do, I know that I do it all the time. Our numbers are hard to distinguish 8 and 9.

I'll have to go back and look, but there was a red zone play in the fourth quarter when one of our players went into motion and was pretty clearly moving forward before the ball was snapped.

I was amazed that didn't draw a flag.
I think that was Akers, he looked like he was running motion in the Arena Football League.
 
  • Like
Reactions: coolerifyoudid
The bad spots have happened against ISU for a long time. Especially against Texas.

One of the most egregious was the Texas night game we "lost" because of the fumble recovery and return we had at the 1 yard line - with no whistle - that was ruled down by contact. I was aghast at how they were giving UT extra yardage almost every spot.
 

Help Support Us

Become a patron