I was responding the a guy that was saying he definitively didn’t celebrate until after getting into the end zone. That’s just not true. I don’t think anyone in here is arguing the call itself is a dumb call and a dumb penalty that shouldn’t have happened.
It wasn’t obvious or excessive in any sense before he passed into the end zone. He took one “high” step…two might be obvious, but if you have to start whittling down the rule to that degree, you’re probably applying it incorrectly. For all we know he could have had a cramp and decided to play it cool instead of falling on his face with one high step.
You sit there and take your dumb ratings!