Noah Fant Not in Iowa City

Fant was giving the audible to the WR. That was definitely on Stanley

Slowing that play down and diving into it, it was a bad pass by Stanley, but it should have been incomplete instead of an interception. If Fant would have gotten off the ball he would have took his defender with him. The pass was intended for Young out of the backfield (which would have been a great play if executed), but since Fan't didnt get off the line his defender was still there and he stepped up and made the int. So Stanley wasnt even looking at Fant, he saw Young had the linebacker and made the throw, it was just a bad pass much like the numerous others he threw that day.

BUT, like Brasky mentioned, it would have / should have been called back even if Young catches it by the horrible offensive pass interference by Hockenson.
 
Slowing that play down and diving into it, it was a bad pass by Stanley, but it should have been incomplete instead of an interception. If Fant would have gotten off the ball he would have took his defender with him. The pass was intended for Young out of the backfield (which would have been a great play if executed), but since Fan't didnt get off the line his defender was still there and he stepped up and made the int. So Stanley wasnt even looking at Fant, he saw Young had the linebacker and made the throw, it was just a bad pass much like the numerous others he threw that day.

BUT, like Brasky mentioned, it would have / should have been called back even if Young catches it by the horrible offensive pass interference by Hockenson.

Fant was trying to relay the audible to the WR. He had no clue the ball was snapped until it was too late. Stanley's fault for the throw and to try an audible that late in the play clock.

Play should have never counted since it was easily a false start as Iowa had at least three players not set when the ball was snapped.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Antihawk240
So much wrong with that play. Plenty of time left (game time, not play clock time), first down, three timeouts. Why in the heck didn't Stanley bag it and call time out? The most important play of the game to that point, and he rushes it and throws a pick. Plus Fant is either - as earlier posters mentioned - talking to the WR, or not paying attention, and misses everything. Unbelievable that they could mess that up so badly.
 
So much wrong with that play. Plenty of time left (game time, not play clock time), first down, three timeouts. Why in the heck didn't Stanley bag it and call time out? The most important play of the game to that point, and he rushes it and throws a pick. Plus Fant is either - as earlier posters mentioned - talking to the WR, or not paying attention, and misses everything. Unbelievable that they could mess that up so badly.

He's not very smart. Doesn't have it between the ears IMO
 
  • Agree
Reactions: SCyclone
Fant was trying to relay the audible to the WR. He had no clue the ball was snapped until it was too late. Stanley's fault for the throw and to try an audible that late in the play clock.

Play should have never counted since it was easily a false start as Iowa had at least three players not set when the ball was snapped.

Yep. I do not disagree. Like I think all of us have said, there is so much wrongness in 1 play. This is exactly why you just don't force it. Burn the timeout and get everyone on the same page. Only 1 thing is worse then burning a time out with 3 minutes to go in the game and that is wishing you would have burned a time out.
 
Isn’t the block within 2-3 yards of scrimmage? If so, it’s not PI.

Isn’t the rule 1 yard? I can’t remember. But he’s probably inside that 1 yard either way. It’s close.

Stanley isn’t good and that pass was awful.
 
Isn’t the rule 1 yard? I can’t remember. But he’s probably inside that 1 yard either way. It’s close.

Stanley isn’t good and that pass was awful.
The rule:

Illegal Contact and Pass Interference ARTICLE 8.
a. During a down in which a legal forward pass crosses the neutral zone, illegal contact by Team A and Team B players is prohibited from the time the ball is snapped until it is touched by any player or an official (A.R. 7-3-8-II).
b. Offensive pass interference is contact by a Team A player beyond the neutral zone that interferes with a Team B player during a legal forward pass play in which the forward pass crosses the neutral zone. It is the responsibility of the offensive player to avoid the opponents. It is not offensive pass interference (A.R. 7-3-8-IV, V, X, XV and XVI):
1. When, after the snap, a Team A ineligible player immediately charges and contacts an opponent at a point not more than one yard beyond the neutral zone and maintains the contact for no more than three yards beyond the neutral zone. (A.R. 7-3-10-II)
2. When two or more eligible players are making a simultaneous and bona fide attempt to reach, catch or bat the pass. Eligible players of either team have equal rights to the ball (A.R. 7-3-8-IX).
3. When the pass is in flight and two or more eligible players are in the area where they might receive or intercept the pass and an offensive player in that area impedes an opponent, and the pass is not catchable.


So the contact must start immediately after the snap and start no more than one yard past the neutral zone and not go past 3 yards past the neutral zone to be legal.

So he contacted the LB and then came back to make that block so it could have technically been called because he didn't immediately charge and contact the opponent but I don't think they are going to call that on anyone less than 1 yard from the LOS.
 
Last edited:
The rule:

Illegal Contact and Pass Interference ARTICLE 8.
a. During a down in which a legal forward pass crosses the neutral zone, illegal contact by Team A and Team B players is prohibited from the time the ball is snapped until it is touched by any player or an official (A.R. 7-3-8-II).
b. Offensive pass interference is contact by a Team A player beyond the neutral zone that interferes with a Team B player during a legal forward pass play in which the forward pass crosses the neutral zone. It is the responsibility of the offensive player to avoid the opponents. It is not offensive pass interference (A.R. 7-3-8-IV, V, X, XV and XVI):
1. When, after the snap, a Team A ineligible player immediately charges and contacts an opponent at a point not more than one yard beyond the neutral zone and maintains the contact for no more than three yards beyond the neutral zone. (A.R. 7-3-10-II)
2. When two or more eligible players are making a simultaneous and bona fide attempt to reach, catch or bat the pass. Eligible players of either team have equal rights to the ball (A.R. 7-3-8-IX).
3. When the pass is in flight and two or more eligible players are in the area where they might receive or intercept the pass and an offensive player in that area impedes an opponent, and the pass is not catchable.


So the contact must start immediately after the snap and start no more than one yard past the neutral zone and not go past 3 yards past the neutral zone to be legal.

So he contacted the LB and then came back to make that block so it could have technically been called because he didn't immediately charge and contact the opponent but I don't think they are going to call that on anyone less than 1 yard from the LOS.

The rule you highlighted is for a "Team A ineligible player" so it only applies to offensive lineman, not tight ends and other receivers.
 
So much wrong with that play. Plenty of time left (game time, not play clock time), first down, three timeouts. Why in the heck didn't Stanley bag it and call time out? The most important play of the game to that point, and he rushes it and throws a pick. Plus Fant is either - as earlier posters mentioned - talking to the WR, or not paying attention, and misses everything. Unbelievable that they could mess that up so badly.
Apparently Iowa's coaching staff was trying to call a timeout but the ref didn't notice them. Likely due to the space-time warp caused by Stanley's immense mass.
 
  • Winner
Reactions: GTO and jcyclonee


I was watching this live with a few Iowa fans of mine. Made me so happy



Fant had no clue on that play. Not looking at the snap. Late off the snap. Half ass effort to block. The guy he doesn't block picks the ball off. Yep, he's a stud first rounder all right. :p
 

Help Support Us

Become a patron