Could we have finished with 4 on the court

CyclonesRule

Well-Known Member
Apr 10, 2006
3,731
72
48
West Des Moines
I know this would have had to been a huge stretch. With Hamilton and Chrisopherson with four fouls each, had this gone into another overtime and we lost both of them, we would have been down to Garrett, Buckley, Gilstrap, Covin, and Dorr.

If we lose another, who goes in? or do we play with 4.
 
I thought about that. No one else had more than three fouls, so we likely would have been OK with the last 5 guys. The question in my mind was when Gilstrap got hurt. That would have left us very thin.

And to answer your question, I think we definitely would have finished with four guys as a last resort, rather than pulling a redshirt off of someone in the last regular season game.
 
Just like in Hoosiers!

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J-lt6jDaVnc&feature=related]YouTube - My team is on the floor[/ame]
 
That was my thinking too. It would have been real bad to have to burn a redshirt at the very end to have been probably a meer couple of minutes or burn the medical for Jaime V. The foul trouble of others like you said not in real danger but the refs seemed to be whistle happy.
 
The only way our victory would have been more improbable is if we had finished with 4 on the court! I thought we were screwed heading into OT.
 
I think there was a game early in the season where a small school finished with 4 people on the court. I can't remember who it was, but I think they talked about it on espn.
 
I'm not sure if the rules have changed, but at one time, the rule was, if you were down to 4 players due to foul-outs, one of the DQ'd players could be inserted, but any foul he committed would be a personal foul AND technical.

I'm not sure if that's still the rule -- or if a coach has the option to do that or play 4-on-5.
 
I know this would have had to been a huge stretch. With Hamilton and Chrisopherson with four fouls each, had this gone into another overtime and we lost both of them, we would have been down to Garrett, Buckley, Gilstrap, Covin, and Dorr.

If we lose another, who goes in? or do we play with 4.
That thought came to mind when Brackins fouled out. It would have really raised some media eyebrows had we gone on to beat them with 4 guys playing. I could see ESPN going crazy with that one!:yes:
 
I'm not sure if the rules have changed, but at one time, the rule was, if you were down to 4 players due to foul-outs, one of the DQ'd players could be inserted, but any foul he committed would be a personal foul AND technical.

I'm not sure if that's still the rule -- or if a coach has the option to do that or play 4-on-5.
This has never been a rule, as far as I know, but it has been proposed before as an alternative to fouling people out. If you have five players available you must play them. But according to a college ref I know, a redshirted player is not considered available, so you would not have to burn a redshirt. In that case, if a coach has less than five available, he/she can finish the game with less than five. In fact, the rules allow you to go all the way down to one available player, at which point the referee (the head of the crew, not the umpires) must decide if the team with one player actually has a chance to win or not. If not, the game is forfeited. Probably TMI, sorry.
 
i would believe in that case it would have to draw the line at 2 players. YOu don't really have a chance to win, if you can't inbound to yourself.:biglaugh:

I could be wrong, but you better re-think that. Is that your final answer?
 
i would believe in that case it would have to draw the line at 2 players. YOu don't really have a chance to win, if you can't inbound to yourself.:biglaugh:

I could be wrong, but you better re-think that. Is that your final answer?

If you throw it off an opposing player you can...
 
i would believe in that case it would have to draw the line at 2 players. YOu don't really have a chance to win, if you can't inbound to yourself.:biglaugh:

I could be wrong, but you better re-think that. Is that your final answer?

No he's right, you can play with 1 if the ref judges that team has an opportunity to win, say the score is tied or the team with 1 player is ahead.
 
i would believe in that case it would have to draw the line at 2 players. YOu don't really have a chance to win, if you can't inbound to yourself.:biglaugh:

I could be wrong, but you better re-think that. Is that your final answer?
Well, say you're up 20 points with a minute left. You can inbound continuously to the other team if you want to.
 

Help Support Us

Become a patron