BU hold while QB in Endzone

cygrads

Well-Known Member
Jul 27, 2007
4,969
2,727
113
Altoona, IA
In the 3rd qtr last night BU had an offensive holding call while their QB was in the end zone isn't that a safety rather than half distance to goal line?
 
I initially thought it should have been a safety too, but after they showed the replay it was clear the hold occurred while the QB wasn't in the end zone
 
It's not about where QB is. It's where hold was initiated/started.

Actually, I think if the QB is standing in the endzone when the hold occurs it is a safety. Unfortunately, the QB was at the 1 when the hold occurred and back pedalled into the endzone after that.
 
I initially thought it should have been a safety too, but after they showed the replay it was clear the hold occurred while the QB wasn't in the end zone


Just to reiterate, it doesn't matter if the QB is in the endzone or not. It matters if the hold itself occurs in the endzone, which it didn't.
 
I'm more ****** about the clear pass interference call and the intentional grounding call.

I didn't get this either. Can someone explain this? I was at the game and I sure thought I saw Sam's pass nearly hit Bibbs in the leg. We had the momentum at that point and could have cut it to 14 in the 3rd quarter.
 
I didn't get this either. Can someone explain this? I was at the game and I sure thought I saw Sam's pass nearly hit Bibbs in the leg. We had the momentum at that point and could have cut it to 14 in the 3rd quarter.

From what I hear the receivers were blocking and so therefore wouldn't be considered targets or something, which is ********.
 
From what I hear the receivers were blocking and so therefore wouldn't be considered targets or something, which is ********.

So if they are blocking then they are no longer eligible receivers? If that's how the rule reads, that makes no sense. There are plays when a running back or tight end blocks for awhile and then runs a little peal off route.
 
So if they are blocking then they are no longer eligible receivers? If that's how the rule reads, that makes no sense. There are plays when a running back or tight end blocks for awhile and then runs a little peal off route.

Yeah I know, that's why I said it was ********.
 
So if they are blocking then they are no longer eligible receivers? If that's how the rule reads, that makes no sense. There are plays when a running back or tight end blocks for awhile and then runs a little peal off route.


You can't throw a pass at an engaged player. If the player is actively engaged in a block, he's not considered a pass-catcher, and thus it is intentional grounding.
 
You can't throw a pass at an engaged player. If the player is actively engaged in a block, he's not considered a pass-catcher, and thus it is intentional grounding.
I don't know the rule so I'll take your word for it, but that rule sounds like it leaves some stuff for the ref to decide. Like people have said earlier, sometimes it's drawn up for a player to block for a short time, then run out to the flat or something. I can only imagine there have been plenty of times when a RB or TE didn't break off the block in time but the QB threw it anyway, only to make it look like there was intentional grounding.
 
QB wasn't in the EZ during the hold. Replay showed the flag coming in right before he stepped back into the EZ.
 
I don't know the rule so I'll take your word for it, but that rule sounds like it leaves some stuff for the ref to decide. Like people have said earlier, sometimes it's drawn up for a player to block for a short time, then run out to the flat or something. I can only imagine there have been plenty of times when a RB or TE didn't break off the block in time but the QB threw it anyway, only to make it look like there was intentional grounding.

If intention matters at all, then it was the right call. Sam basically threw straight down with both hands. I realize QBs intentionally ground the ball at a recievers feet all the time, but its difficult to call what Sam did a throw. He essentially just spiked the ball at his own feet. It was the right call IMO.
 
From what I hear the receivers were blocking and so therefore wouldn't be considered targets or something, which is ********.

If that's the case there was an intentional grounding by Baylor. At one point they miscommunicated and threw to a receiver who was blocking on the sideline.
 

Help Support Us

Become a patron