0-1 versus the Pylon

NebraskaCyclone

Active Member
Sep 15, 2011
270
64
28
46
Nebraska
Good win over the Panthers, but I'm still annoyed with the pylon play. Someone explain this rule to me. So typical a rare situation with an impressive effort on our part to actually work against us. That has to rank up there on the list of Most Iowa State Things Ever.

Meanwhile in Nebraska, I'm pretty sure some Latter Day Saints churches got torched overnight.
 
It happens alot actually. If you fumble the ball out of your own endzone. Its a touchback. The pylon is considered the endzone in bounds. Thus there ball. Proper call was made.
 
I've seen that play happen several times. He fumbled into the endzone. Just like a punt going into the endzone. Touchback
 
I want to know why the reply official made the proper call there, but made a complete 100% wrong replay reversal on Sam being down on that 3rd down conversion.

There is no way that was conclusive evidence he was down with the ball in his hand. Replay official gets an F rating for the game even getting the pylon call correct.
 
It sucked because the call on the field was he was out of bounds. So the review of him staying in bounds ended up hurting us.
 
Ya it does happen more often than you would think. I felt that Sage was superb last night with his knowledge of the rules and the game, providing anecdotes and first hand experience to explain to the listener. He has a truly outstanding mind.
 
I've seen that play happen several times. He fumbled into the endzone. Just like a punt going into the endzone. Touchback

See that's where I'm having troubles wrapping my head around the reasoning for it. I'm not seeing why it's treated like a punt situation where that's an intentional transition to the other team.
 
I want to know why the reply official made the proper call there, but made a complete 100% wrong replay reversal on Sam being down on that 3rd down conversion.

There is no way that was conclusive evidence he was down with the ball in his hand. Replay official gets an F rating for the game even getting the pylon call correct.
There were a couple of camera angles that showed his knee clearly down before the ball left his hand when it was slowed down.

Both calls were correct.
 
Ya it does happen more often than you would think. I felt that Sage was superb last night with his knowledge of the rules and the game, providing anecdotes and first hand experience to explain to the listener. He has a truly outstanding mind.

I think Sage outcoached Farley in the late 3rd quarter when he correctly assessed that UNI had zero chance of winning with the current QB. They weren't going to mount a 17+ point comeback exclusively with QB scrambles on broken pass plays. Two possessions later UNI gave 2 of the other 4 "starting" QBs a chance.
 
He's not saying that he thought the call wasn't correct.

He's saying that it's very Iowa State for us to think we had an awesome top 10-ish "dive for the pylon" play only for the nut-kick to come in and be LOLNOPE: turnover.
 
There were a couple of camera angles that showed his knee clearly down before the ball left his hand when it was slowed down.

Both calls were correct.

I saw 3 camera angles on TV and a 4th where the play was obscured. None of them were clear enough to change a call on the field, Sage and Blume said as much as well.

Maybe we had a 5th and 6th angle and Cyclones.tv has a more robust TV crew than NFL broadcasts.
 
I want to know why the reply official made the proper call there, but made a complete 100% wrong replay reversal on Sam being down on that 3rd down conversion.

There is no way that was conclusive evidence he was down with the ball in his hand. Replay official gets an F rating for the game even getting the pylon call correct.
Disagree completely. All calls were correct. There have been times I felt we got the short end on replay but last night everything was correct.
 
See that's where I'm having troubles wrapping my head around the reasoning for it. I'm not seeing why it's treated like a punt situation where that's an intentional transition to the other team.
He fumbled the ball. If you fumble the ball into the endzone and it goes OB, the other team gets it. You can't give the original team a touchdown because the ball leaves the field of play in the endzone, otherwise all you'd see are RBs "fumbling" the ball into the endzone on short situations.
 
See that's where I'm having troubles wrapping my head around the reasoning for it. I'm not seeing why it's treated like a punt situation where that's an intentional transition to the other team.

I don't know how else you could approach it from a rules perspective. You can't give the fumbling team a touchdown.
 
He fumbled the ball. If you fumble the ball into the endzone and it goes OB, the other team gets it. You can't give the original team a touchdown because the ball leaves the field of play in the endzone, otherwise all you'd see are RBs "fumbling" the ball into the endzone on short situations.

Ok, that makes more sense. Still bizarre. I guess I haven't seen as often as others have.
 
Here's my questioning of the rule (not the call on the play):

If the ball touches the outside of the pylon first, doesn't that mean that the ball was already out of bounds when it passed the goal line?
 
Same reason that Tyler Lockett was out of bounds when he was touching the pylon while making that catch in the K-State game last year. And same reason that we were all pee'd off about the refs not making the call correctly. Not only was he out of bounds when he caught the ball, he was the first to touch the ball after being out of bounds, which is a penalty. But I digress.
 
Good win over the Panthers, but I'm still annoyed with the pylon play. Someone explain this rule to me. So typical a rare situation with an impressive effort on our part to actually work against us. That has to rank up there on the list of Most Iowa State Things Ever.

Meanwhile in Nebraska, I'm pretty sure some Latter Day Saints churches got torched overnight.
The defenders own the pylon if you fumble into it which he did by a yard. Looks like Riley lost some more hair yesterday.
 

Help Support Us

Become a patron