Saw this being retweeted, pay no attention to the block in the back by 3 that took out two cyclones.
That was the play that pissed me off in real time.
Follow along with the video below to see how to install our site as a web app on your home screen.
Note: This feature may not be available in some browsers.
Saw this being retweeted, pay no attention to the block in the back by 3 that took out two cyclones.
He even looked at the ref to see if he got called for it.That was the play that pissed me off in real time.
You hawk fans always talk about how this game doesn’t matter to you but you sure do like to talk about it a lot.Not against the Hawks. Pretty shocking...when’s the last time the Clones won in trice?
The standard excuse is, he was double teamed all day. BS! I watched constantly through the whole game and I don't remember seeing a single double team. I did see Good-Jones manhandle him constantly though. Game is a lot harder when you have to play more than 3-10 downs.How come none were from the game last night? Could it be because he did nothing, one tackle the whole game, after Iowa fans crowing how he would dominate the game. ONE tackle. Great player, but he did nothing to effect the outcome of the game yesterday.
The standard excuse is, he was double teamed all day. BS! I watched constantly through the whole game and I don't remember seeing a single double team. I did see Good-Jones manhandle him constantly though. Game is a lot harder when you have to play more than 3-10 downs.
Funny. He got hit in the arm when throwing. Hard to make that line of scrimmage sometimes when that happens and that wasn't grounding.
The Excuse Train is rolling for the fifth straight year.
He was double teamed nearly every play of the game. ISU knows how talented he is that is why they set their blocking scheme up the way they did. Show the damn kid some respect because your team certainly did by double teaming him so often.
Starting Left TackleWhat, that Iowa had injured players? That got thrown around before and after the game by hawk fans. You guys should let it die since you won.
Starting Left Tackle
Starting Defensive Tackle
Starting Conerback
Starting Safety
Back up Cornerback
Back up Cornerback
Man, that would have been a really good one to use too.
Funny. He got hit in the arm when throwing. Hard to make that line of scrimmage sometimes when that happens and that wasn't grounding.
Can we at least agree that this excuse is negated by the 2 ISU drives basically stopped by bad snaps due to ISU’s center being out, and Iowa’s only TD drive occurring because of an awful punt due to ISU’s punter being out? I would say that is a wash.
They called this in the Chiefs game last weekend too... I cant imagine you'd call grounding when arm is hit (then any time your arm is hit its grounding???) - but i've seen it twice already this year. Wasn't a fan of that call.
Starting Left Tackle
Starting Defensive Tackle
Starting Conerback
Starting Safety
Back up Cornerback
Back up Cornerback
Man, that would have been a really good one to use too.
Then they got the call wrong. Here it is from the official NFL rule book.
RULE SUMMARY VIEW OFFICIAL RULE
INTENTIONAL GROUNDING
It is a foul for intentional grounding if a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage because of pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion. A realistic chance of completion is defined as a pass that is thrown in the direction of and lands in the vicinity of an originally eligible receiver.
Item 1. Passer or Ball Outside Tackle Position. Intentional grounding will not be called when a passer, who is outside, or has been outside, the tackle position,throws a forward pass that lands at or beyond the line of scrimmage, even if no offensive player(s) have a realistic chance to catch the ball (including when the ball lands out of bounds over the sideline or endline). If the ball crosses the line of scrimmage (extended) beyond the sideline, there is no intentional grounding. If a loose ball leaves the area bordered by the tackles, this area no longer exists; if the ball is recovered, all intentional grounding rules apply as if the passer is outside this area.
Item 2. Physical Contact. Intentional grounding should not be called if:
- the passer initiates his passing motion toward an eligible receiver and then is significantly affected by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the pass to land in an area that is not in the direction and vicinity of an eligible receiver; or
- the passer is out of the pocket, and his passing motion is significantly affected by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the ball to land short of the line of scrimmage.
Then they got the call wrong. Here it is from the official NFL rule book.
RULE SUMMARY VIEW OFFICIAL RULE
INTENTIONAL GROUNDING
It is a foul for intentional grounding if a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage because of pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion. A realistic chance of completion is defined as a pass that is thrown in the direction of and lands in the vicinity of an originally eligible receiver.
Item 1. Passer or Ball Outside Tackle Position. Intentional grounding will not be called when a passer, who is outside, or has been outside, the tackle position,throws a forward pass that lands at or beyond the line of scrimmage, even if no offensive player(s) have a realistic chance to catch the ball (including when the ball lands out of bounds over the sideline or endline). If the ball crosses the line of scrimmage (extended) beyond the sideline, there is no intentional grounding. If a loose ball leaves the area bordered by the tackles, this area no longer exists; if the ball is recovered, all intentional grounding rules apply as if the passer is outside this area.
Item 2. Physical Contact. Intentional grounding should not be called if:
- the passer initiates his passing motion toward an eligible receiver and then is significantly affected by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the pass to land in an area that is not in the direction and vicinity of an eligible receiver; or
- the passer is out of the pocket, and his passing motion is significantly affected by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the ball to land short of the line of scrimmage.