The infamous holding call

How come none were from the game last night? Could it be because he did nothing, one tackle the whole game, after Iowa fans crowing how he would dominate the game. ONE tackle. Great player, but he did nothing to effect the outcome of the game yesterday.
The standard excuse is, he was double teamed all day. BS! I watched constantly through the whole game and I don't remember seeing a single double team. I did see Good-Jones manhandle him constantly though. Game is a lot harder when you have to play more than 3-10 downs.
 
Call me a bitter paronoid ect. But given the situation of 4th and long, the ref that threw that holding call must have wanted the Hawkeyes too win. Wasn't even in ticky tacky territory. It was a phantom call in a huge situation by a **** sucker referee.
 
  • Agree
Reactions: flycy and Cytown12
He was double teamed nearly every play of the game. ISU knows how talented he is that is why they set their blocking scheme up the way they did. Show the damn kid some respect because your team certainly did by double teaming him so often.

I don't follow Iowa, but leading up to the game I heard a lot of chatter about Epenesa. I was worried until I saw him play a couple series. Either he was hurt or he just plain sucks. He was constantly bull rushing JGJ and getting nowhere. On one play our true freshman RB took him out. Maybe the Dolphins will draft him. I hear they are in tank mode.
 
  • Funny
  • Like
Reactions: Scott34 and GTO
What, that Iowa had injured players? That got thrown around before and after the game by hawk fans. You guys should let it die since you won.
Starting Left Tackle
Starting Defensive Tackle
Starting Conerback
Starting Safety
Back up Cornerback
Back up Cornerback

Man, that would have been a really good one to use too.
 
  • Disagree
Reactions: Cytown12
Look, the "holding call" was no doubt bad, but let's not act like there weren't other opportunities to win this game. There were about 3 times we could've put the game on ice but we didn't capitalize. We also could've had a chance to drive down the field after this call and win the game but we didn't. Iowa won because they made enough plays to win the game. We lost because we did not. It's as simple as that.
 
  • Agree
Reactions: cb1030 and iahawks
Starting Left Tackle
Starting Defensive Tackle
Starting Conerback
Starting Safety
Back up Cornerback
Back up Cornerback

Man, that would have been a really good one to use too.

Can we at least agree that this excuse is negated by the 2 ISU drives basically stopped by bad snaps due to ISU’s center being out, and Iowa’s only TD drive occurring because of an awful punt due to ISU’s punter being out? I would say that is a wash.
 
Funny. He got hit in the arm when throwing. Hard to make that line of scrimmage sometimes when that happens and that wasn't grounding.

They called this in the Chiefs game last weekend too... I cant imagine you'd call grounding when arm is hit (then any time your arm is hit its grounding???) - but i've seen it twice already this year. Wasn't a fan of that call.
 
Can we at least agree that this excuse is negated by the 2 ISU drives basically stopped by bad snaps due to ISU’s center being out, and Iowa’s only TD drive occurring because of an awful punt due to ISU’s punter being out? I would say that is a wash.

ISU's special teams were pretty awful and probably the difference in the game. The short and low punt, deciding to return the ball from the end zone resulting in a drive starting at the 6 yard line, the obvious fumble blunder. Those were all key plays.
 
Seemed like the refs more/less hit the snooze button on this one - ready to just call it a day.

For these two teams combined to only have 3 penalties... and then 2 on one play is a little unheard of.

Oh well... good teams find a way to overcome it. Tough luck on the punt return otherwise i think they really would have. Sucks.
 
They called this in the Chiefs game last weekend too... I cant imagine you'd call grounding when arm is hit (then any time your arm is hit its grounding???) - but i've seen it twice already this year. Wasn't a fan of that call.

Then they got the call wrong. Here it is from the official NFL rule book.

RULE SUMMARY VIEW OFFICIAL RULE
INTENTIONAL GROUNDING

It is a foul for intentional grounding if a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage because of pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion. A realistic chance of completion is defined as a pass that is thrown in the direction of and lands in the vicinity of an originally eligible receiver.

Item 1. Passer or Ball Outside Tackle Position. Intentional grounding will not be called when a passer, who is outside, or has been outside, the tackle position,throws a forward pass that lands at or beyond the line of scrimmage, even if no offensive player(s) have a realistic chance to catch the ball (including when the ball lands out of bounds over the sideline or endline). If the ball crosses the line of scrimmage (extended) beyond the sideline, there is no intentional grounding. If a loose ball leaves the area bordered by the tackles, this area no longer exists; if the ball is recovered, all intentional grounding rules apply as if the passer is outside this area.

Item 2. Physical Contact. Intentional grounding should not be called if:

  1. the passer initiates his passing motion toward an eligible receiver and then is significantly affected by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the pass to land in an area that is not in the direction and vicinity of an eligible receiver; or
  2. the passer is out of the pocket, and his passing motion is significantly affected by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the ball to land short of the line of scrimmage.
 
Then they got the call wrong. Here it is from the official NFL rule book.

RULE SUMMARY VIEW OFFICIAL RULE
INTENTIONAL GROUNDING

It is a foul for intentional grounding if a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage because of pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion. A realistic chance of completion is defined as a pass that is thrown in the direction of and lands in the vicinity of an originally eligible receiver.

Item 1. Passer or Ball Outside Tackle Position. Intentional grounding will not be called when a passer, who is outside, or has been outside, the tackle position,throws a forward pass that lands at or beyond the line of scrimmage, even if no offensive player(s) have a realistic chance to catch the ball (including when the ball lands out of bounds over the sideline or endline). If the ball crosses the line of scrimmage (extended) beyond the sideline, there is no intentional grounding. If a loose ball leaves the area bordered by the tackles, this area no longer exists; if the ball is recovered, all intentional grounding rules apply as if the passer is outside this area.

Item 2. Physical Contact. Intentional grounding should not be called if:

  1. the passer initiates his passing motion toward an eligible receiver and then is significantly affected by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the pass to land in an area that is not in the direction and vicinity of an eligible receiver; or
  2. the passer is out of the pocket, and his passing motion is significantly affected by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the ball to land short of the line of scrimmage.

Not arguing with you... just saying have seen it called twice in 2 weeks now.
 
Then they got the call wrong. Here it is from the official NFL rule book.

RULE SUMMARY VIEW OFFICIAL RULE
INTENTIONAL GROUNDING

It is a foul for intentional grounding if a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage because of pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion. A realistic chance of completion is defined as a pass that is thrown in the direction of and lands in the vicinity of an originally eligible receiver.

Item 1. Passer or Ball Outside Tackle Position. Intentional grounding will not be called when a passer, who is outside, or has been outside, the tackle position,throws a forward pass that lands at or beyond the line of scrimmage, even if no offensive player(s) have a realistic chance to catch the ball (including when the ball lands out of bounds over the sideline or endline). If the ball crosses the line of scrimmage (extended) beyond the sideline, there is no intentional grounding. If a loose ball leaves the area bordered by the tackles, this area no longer exists; if the ball is recovered, all intentional grounding rules apply as if the passer is outside this area.

Item 2. Physical Contact. Intentional grounding should not be called if:

  1. the passer initiates his passing motion toward an eligible receiver and then is significantly affected by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the pass to land in an area that is not in the direction and vicinity of an eligible receiver; or
  2. the passer is out of the pocket, and his passing motion is significantly affected by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the ball to land short of the line of scrimmage.

So it is officials discretion if his motion was significantly affected? They determined it wasn’t, so even it were reviewed you know it would stand. This post only hurt your arguement.
 

Help Support Us

Become a patron